Cutting up ingredients Shokugeki no Souma style

Yukihira-Souma-shokugeki-no-souma-37221075-1440-900

Have you ever wanted the knife skills of the characters in Shokugeki no Souma?

I sure did but that would obviously require a lot of practice and I’m not that diligent

So, I did what every lazy person would do, I made a shortcut so you wouldn’t have to

It of course has a lot of flaws and it’s not as good as the real thing but what did you expect from something that you can learn just by reading an article

And so, with that, I bring to you this step-by-step procedure on being able to slice and dice Shokugeki style


Step 1:

Cut the ingredient into strips. They should be thin enough to be completely cut with one slice from your knife. No need to be precise, just slice it. Think of it as dicing without cutting the side aka the hardest part. I haven’t even succeded in slicing the sides because well, I don’t really need to because of this shortcut


Step 2 (optional):

Grab the handle of your knife with your thumb, index and middle finger. Grab the tip of your knife in the same manner, thumb, index and middle. Now this might sound dangerous and it might really be dangerous but I have never gotten injured from doing this so I wouldn’t know and I have never seen anyone else do this as well. If you don’t think you have the guts to do this then don’t, no one’s forcing you to and there is still a way for you to be able to use this method without doing so, which brings us to the last step


Step 3; Final Step:

Cut the strips up like how the Aldini brothers diced their ingredients using a mezzaluna. I don’t have a mezzaluna which is why I did that (step 2) with a knife. It’s simply my attemt at emulating a mezzaluna. It might work better than a real mezzaluna or a real mezzaluna might work better. I don’t have one so I wouldn’t know. Hopefully I get the chance to compare them in the future


Conclusion:

Well, that’s it. Hopefully this helped you in some way, shape, or form. It’s just something that I came up with in order to make things easier for myself and this “technique” was inspired by Shokugeki no Souma. Have fun cooking and may your dishes be able to make people foodgasm

 

Leave a Reply

